English Language · French Learning · German language · Language Learning

New Year’s Goals – Progress

Although I only wrote my goals post in February, we’re now in June, this is essentially the half way point of 2016. So I thought I’d give a quick update on my language learning goals of 2016.

AIM NUMBER ONE: CONTINUE PRACTICING GERMAN

So far, this is going pretty well, although I had a Spanish exam in May, I’ve been watching German YouTube videos twice a week for the majority of the year. Although this may not sound like much, if each video is around 6/7 minutes long (if not longer) and I’m subscribed to around 7 channels, the minutes soon start adding up. See my post on my favourite German YouTubers (Lifestyle and Beauty) here. One of my friends is going to be studying for a German AS level next year, so I’m going to try and help her out as well, which will give me useful practise at speaking and teaching.

AIM NUMBER TWO: LEARN SPANISH

This aim is already partly achieved – my main focus was on getting my GCSE. At the time of writing, I sat the exams on May 20th, and won’t get the results until August. To teach languages in the UK, it’s generally helpful to have two – since German will be my main that I can teach up to A Level, I need at least an A Level in Spanish in order to teach up to GCSE (with me so far!?). The GCSE is a useful stepping stone in this path. I was looking into Spanish A Level, but with work and studying next year, I don’t think it’s going to be possible. After my Masters next year, I’ll probably have to go on a Skills Enhancement Course for 8-12 weeks to brush up.

AIM NUMBER THREE: LEARN A NEW LANGUAGE.

Under the weight of lots of other commitments, my Dutch learning has fallen by the wayside a little – and has in part, been replaed by learning some French. I have, however, sporadically learnt both on Duolingo the past few months, and it’s only June. I still have time to turn things around!! I think I should try blogging in German and Spanish too.

AIM NUMBER FOUR: TRANSLATION AND NETWORKING

Work in progress – I expect this to be improved when I go back to university.

General targets that I’ve been working on/ will work on over the next few months:

  1. I’ve recently joined the twinning committee in my town. We are lucky to have three twin towns (in Germany, France and Belgium). When I learnt German at school, I was lucky enough to go to Germany and visit it. I’ve been looking into joining the association and now seems like as good a time as any.
  2. Take a First Aid course – offered through my work at school, it’s an important and useful qualification to have, both professionally and personally.
  3. Research teacher training as soon as possible – there are so many different options and with language combinations I’m sure I’ll find something to suit me.
  4. Learn to drive!!!
  5. Spend the summer visiting friends and family – it’s long overdue.

If you want to see more of what I’m up to, or want to chat further, you can find me on Twitter on @amjscorr.

And last but not least, I think my blogging has gotten better!! Onwards and upwards!!

What were your goals this year? How are you getting on so far? I’d love to know!

Bis bald,
Alex

Leave a Reply

